Beatriz Barragan
National President
Lambda Theta Alpha Latin Sorority Inc.


July 2, 2012

Lambda Theta Alpha Concludes their National Convention in San Juan, Puerto Rico
LTA presented a check to St. Jude Children's Research Hospital for $21,716.45, recognized top academic achievers across the nation, and announced the location of the 2013 National Convention.

July 1, 2012 (San Juan, PR) - The 37th Annual National Convention for Lambda Theta Alpha Latin Sorority, Inc. (LTA) concluded on July 1, 2012 after two days of educational and motivational seminars and activities that highlighted the past year's accomplishments for the sorority. Just over 390 attendees, including six Founding Mothers, participated in the event held at the Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

This year's theme "Waves of Evolution, Oceans of Opportunity" celebrated the progress and growth of the organization as well as preparing for the vast opportunities available to sisters. The convention offered impactful presentations and interactive workshops to gear members for continued success. A highlight was that of the keynote presentation given by award winning, inspirational author, Gloria M. Rodriguez who currently serves as a tenured professor at Bronx Community College of The City University of New York. .

One of LTA's most notable achievements was the first year partnership with St. Jude Children's Research Hospital. St. Jude. National Representatives, Sarah Williams and Claudia Vergara, highlighted the partnership between St. Jude and LTA. With great honor, LTA presented a check to St. Jude Children's Research Hospital for the amount of $21,716.45, exceeding the $20,000 annual goal. The total donation reflects the yearlong campaign LTA carried out nationally in the effort to battle childhood cancer, including a last minute donation drive during the convention's open ceremony that generated over $700 from the audience.

The annual National Awards Luncheon held on Saturday, June 30th was an opportunity to acknowledge our Lifetime Members and present awards of the highest caliber within LTA and acknowledge those members who have exceeded all expectations through scholarship, service and sisterhood.

The recipients of the 2012 National Awards:

Lourdes Cortes Scholarship:
Cruz Gallegos, University of Idaho

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Milena Orozco, Advisor to the National Board of Directors

Campus Leader of the Year:
Ramonita Garcia, University of Connecticut

Philanthropic Sister of the Year:
Jessica Maldonado, Texas South Area 2

New Professional of the Year:
Jasmine Lopez, California Alumnae Chapter

Professional of the Year:
Sandra Sosa, Georgia Area 1

Principles Award:
Marlene Camacho-Rivera, New York Alumnae Chapter

New Sister of the Year:
Jacqueline Rios, California State Polytechnic University-Pomona

Undergraduate Sister of the Year:
Eva Alvarenga, University of South Florida

Alumna/Graduate Sister of the Year:
Denise Vidot, Alumnae Graduate Executive Board

Philanthropic Chapter of the Year:
Epsilon Delta Chapter, DePaul University

New Chapter of the Year:
Epsilon Sigma Chapter, University of California, Irvine

Undergraduate Chapter of the Year:
Epsilon Delta Chapter, DePaul University

Alumnae/Graduate Chapter of the Year:
Lambda Lambda Chapter, Illinois

Area of the Year:
Texas South Area 2

Outstanding Service to St. Jude Award:
Lambda Gamma Chapter, Connecticut

In addition, the National Board of Directors recognized and gave appreciation to the 2011-2012 leadership and officially transitioned the new 2012-2013 leadership at the chapter, area, and national levels. The 2012-2013 National Board of Directors sworn into office include:

National President
Beatriz Barragan, California alumna

Vice President of Internal Affairs
Krystal Kira Vazquez, Connecticut alumna

Vice President of Finance
Carolina Sodre, Texas alumna

Vice President of Administration
Laurie Ochoa, Washington alumna

Director of Orientation
Cristina Naranjo, Florida alumna

Director of Recruitment and Retention
Katherine Hiraldo, New York alumna

Director of Alumnae Affairs
Denise Vidot, Florida alumna

To conclude our National Convention, LTA was thrilled to announce an additional initiative for the duration of 2012, the Political Education Initiative (PEI). This initiative encourages the membership to get informed and involved in the political process for the upcoming presidential elections in November. Informational webinars on current national trends and issues will be provided for the entire membership. PEI aims to have each member register 17 qualified voters for the national elections. The number 17 reflects the organization's 17 Founding Mothers who during their collegiate years and now as professional women are heavily involved in political awareness and action.

In 2013, Lambda Theta Alpha Latin Sorority, Inc. will collaborate with Lambda Theta Phi Latin Fraternity, Inc. to co-host their respective national conventions. This historic event is the first of its kind and will take place in New Orleans, LA during the second weekend of July.  


Follow Us!


Lambda Theta Alpha was founded at Kean University in 1975 as the first Latina sorority in the nation. Lambda Theta Alpha strives to develop strong leaders that produce and engage in political, social, and cultural activities. Based on the principles of Unity, Love, and Respect, the Sorority was established for the unification of women through charitable and educational programs. Although Lambda Theta Alpha is Latin by tradition, the Sorority is inclusive to all women regardless of race, color, creed, sexual identity, gender expression, or religious beliefs. Lambda Theta Alpha is a proud member of the National Association of Latino Fraternal Organizations.